Tags

, , , , ,

AKB48 has always been a fan driven group, just look at the 2012 Senbatsu. This time around, fans will choose which song will be made into a MV and I think it’s an awesome idea.

Akimoto Yasushi, AKB’s producer writes:

It sounds interesting to make a new music video for a song that doesn’t have a music video. In that case, why don’t we decide the song through the fans’ vote?” “When we were talking about this, KING RECORDS offered to put the video into an album as bonus footage. Fans, please ask KING RECORDS for further details. I want to make a music video for ‘Only today’. Which song would you like to see being made into a music video?

I honestly love this idea. I’ll admit that I’m not the biggest AKB48 fan, preferring Hello Project, but this idea is amazing and I sincerely wish that more agencies would pick this route. How many times have you heard a B-side track which sounds 10 times better than A-side and hate the fact that a MV will never be created for that track. Going this route, you’d know without a doubt that the MV would be successful since fans picked it. Like I said, I’m not a big follower of AKB48, but I can see how they are popular when they heavily involve their fans and are always trying things that have never been done before in the J-Pop community. What are your thoughts on this?

~Peace

